One of the reasons why the Germans built fortresses in Swinemünde was most probably the experience they underwent in 1848, when Danish troops blockaded the harbour. Unemployment increased due to the blockade to such an extent that the municipality decided to create jobs in road construction. The road via Friedrichsthal to Zirchow, Usedom etc. was built at that time.
The Ostbatterie (now "Gerhard Fort"), which was built in the 19th century as a part of the Swinemünde fortress, is located on the right bank of the Swina river near the lighthouse. For a long time, bushes and trees overgrew the whole area of the fortress. In 2001, an enthusiast "commander" leased the fortress with the aim of continuing reconstruction and opening it to the public as an attraction
he "commander" of the fortress - dressed in a historical fantasy uniform with a spiked helmet - sparks the children's interest with his stories on history. The presentation even includes firing of a cannon.
In reality, none of the fortresses has ever fired a shot in anger. Maybe Prussia's "policy of strength" dissuaded the enemies from attack.
The Engelsburg was designed in the form of a redoubt and was formerly surrounded by a rampart and a moat. The monumental building, which was built between 1845 and 1858, includes 24 embrasures for cannons on three floors.